Gascogne – Wild Wild West

Whether it is the sandy paths through the pine forests towards the Atlantic, the green, fluffy Pyrenean hills in the Basque country, the lush gascognian menus or simply the mixture of everything that makes up the charm of this area? This tour is the real classic in the offer of roadbookTours and the number of repeaters speaks for itself. It is a journey of discoveries, because besides the off-road driving the Gascogne offers on almost 1000 roadbook kilometers a lot of exciting landscapes. Our “Ferme-Auberge Du Boué” near Sidonie and Antoine is not only a genuine piece of France, but also the start and finish point of the trip, which means that vehicles and trailers can stay there and are in good hands. And as far as the roadbook is concerned, there will be a short course as well as an introductory course on the first day.

TOUR COURSE

Day 1:
Arrival, short Roadbook basics, introductory tour.

Day 2:
Fairy tale woods, fern, dune offshoots and sandy ways.

Day 3:
Course west towards the Atlantic coast through the heart of the département country.

Day 4:
Along the sea through deep sand to the south, then further to the green peaks of the Basque country.

Day 5:
In hopefully sunny weather across the Pyrenees, largely on gravel, partly on small streets with fantastic views.

Day 6:
A reunion with the sand on known routes at the end of the stage.

Day 7:
After our last (usually somewhat longer) night there is once again a farmhouse breakfast. Then we go home.

– Subject to alterations –

TOTAL DISTANCE

Approximately 1,000 kilometers, 80% off-road, day stages 150-230 kilometers.

DRIVING SKILLS

The stages of this tour contain no extreme driving difficulties. You should know something about sand, because it can be quite deep after long periods of dryness. For the sandy as well as the rocky sections in the Pyrenees, consider that you have to be sure of your enduro on the respective ground and that you have enough physical as well as mental condition for 150-200 km off-road a day. Apart from that, we are on the move touristically. Everybody can pace his tempo himself, and for breaks is always enough time. Since we are, finally, on vacation. Also with two-cylinder Enduros quite feasible, presumed the pilot masters his machine. No beginner’s tour!

ROADBOOK

Our tours are designed in such a way that there is space for individual development. For this reason we have developed a route map, the so-called roadbook. With this instruction manual packed in a holder on the handlebars, you navigate to the day’s destination. Just start looking for a partner at the beginning of the trip, and then go through thick and thin one week together. When and where breaks are put in, or how one organize the day – it’s up to you. Only for dinner we would gladly to have you all together. But do not worry – we’re on the road with you. So if you do not feel like roadbooking, you can join us. And another thing: we are not on a rally.

On request, we rent roadbook holders for the duration of the tour.

OVERNIGHT STAY

In Ferme-Auberges, Gîtes and hotels. On two farm overnight stays, the sleeping bag will be our companion. Tent and sleeping mat can stay at home, there is a bed for everyone. The overnight stays we have chosen correspond to the style of the region and have a good standard.

CUISINE

He who drives hard, should eat well. We do this mostly on farms, where the rustic food culture of the region is cultivated. We will do without a lavish lunch, since a full stomach is not good for Enduro driving. There are plentiful breakfasts and extensive menus in the evening. And for the little hunger in between there are bars at the side of the road.

CLOTHING

Complete Enduro protective clothing. We recommend Enduro boots, pants and jackets with elbow or chest armor, knee protectors made of hard plastic, Enduro helmet, shatter-proof glasses.

SERVICES

6 overnight stays in hotels and fermes auberges, half-board, table drinks, roadbooks, tour guide, luggage transport, technical support, service vehicle, travel security note.

IF REQUESTED

Passenger transport, motorcycle transport, single room, roadbook holder.

NOT INCLUDED

Gasoline, beverages, lunch, travel cancellation insurance.

DATE

27.05. – 02.06.2018

COSTS

  • Roadbook Tour: € 980
  • Rental bike Yamaha WR 250 R: € 570
  • Single room only upon special request
  • Roadbook holder rental: € 20
  • Transporting motorcycle: € 200

Minimum number of participants

10 Personen

Sign up for the tour

Gascogne – Wild Wild West

Ob es die sandigen Wege durch die Pinienwälder Richtung Atlantik, die grünen, flauschigen Pyrenäenhügel im Baskenland, gar die üppigen gascognischen Menüs oder einfach die Mischung aus allem ist, die den Charme dieser Gegend ausmachen? Diese Tour ist der echte Klassiker im Angebot von roadbookTouren und die Zahl der Wiederholer spricht für sich. Sie ist eine Entdeckungsreise, denn neben dem Geländefahren bietet die Gascogne auf fast 1000 Roadbook-Kilometern jede Menge spannende Landschaften. Unsere „Ferme-Auberge Du Boué“ bei Sidonie und Antoine ist nicht nur ein unverfälschtes Stück Frankreich, sondern auch Start- und Zielpunkt der Reise, was bedeutet, dass Fahrzeuge und Hänger dort stehen bleiben können und gut aufgehoben sind. Und was das Roadbook betrifft, gibt es am ersten Tag einen kurzen Lehrgang sowie eine Einführungsrunde.

TOURVERLAUF

Tag 1: Eintreffen, kleines Roadbook-Einmaleins, Schnuppertour.

Tag 2: Märchenwälder, Farn, Dünenausläufer und sandige Wege.

Tag 3: Kurs West Richtung Atlantikküste durch das Herz des Département Landes.

Tag 4: Entlang des Meers durch tiefen Sand nach Süden, dann auf zu den grünen Kuppen des Baskenlandes.

Tag 5: Bei hoffentlich sonnigem Wetter größtenteils auf Schotter, teils auf kleinen Sträßchen mit toller Aussicht durch die Pyrenäen.

Tag 6: Ein Wiedersehen mit dem Sand auf bekannten Strecken am Schluss der Etappe.

Tag 7: Nach unserer letzten (in aller Regel etwas längeren) Nacht gibt es noch einmal ein Bauernhof-Frühstück. Danach geht’s ab nach Hause.

– Änderungen vorbehalten –

GESAMTSTRECKE

Zirka 1.000 Kilometer, davon 80% Off-Road, Tagesetappen 150 – 230 Kilometer.

FAHRKÖNNEN

Die Etappen dieser Tour beinhalten keine extremen fahrerischen Schwierigkeiten. Im Sand sollten Sie sich aber ein wenig auskennen, denn der kann nach längeren Trockenphasen recht tief werden. Für die sandigen, wie auch die steinigen Abschnitte in den Pyrenäen gilt, dass sie im Umgang mit ihrer Enduro auf dem jeweiligen Untergrund sicher sein müssen und genügend körperliche wie auch mentale Kondition für 150-200 km Off-Road am Tag mitbringen sollten. Abgesehen davon sind wir touristisch unterwegs. Jeder kann sein Tempo selbst einteilen und für Pausen ist immer genug Zeit. Denn wir sind ja schließlich im Urlaub. Auch mit Zweizylinder-Enduros durchaus machbar, vorausgesetzt der Pilot beherrscht seine Maschine. Keine Einsteigertour!

ROADBOOK

Unsere Touren sind so angelegt, dass so viel möglich Platz für individuelle Entfaltung bleibt. Aus diesem Grund haben wir einen Streckenplan, das sogenannte Roadbook erarbeitet. Mit dieser Gebrauchsanweisung in einem Halter am Lenker verpackt, navigiert man sich zum Tagesziel. Einfach zu Beginn der Reise seinen Wunschpartner suchen, und dann eine Woche zusammen durch dick und dünn gehen. Wann und wo Pausen eingelegt werden, oder wie man sich den Tag einteilt- Ihre Sache. Nur rechtzeitig zum Abendessen hätten wir dann gerne alle beisammen. Doch keine Angst – wir sind mit auf der Strecke. Wer also keine Lust auf Roadbook hat, der kann sich bei uns anhängen. Und noch was: wir sind nicht auf einer Rallye.

Auf Anfrage vermieten wir Roadbookhalter für die Dauer der Tour.

ÜBERNACHTUNG

In Ferme-Auberges, Gîtes und Hotels. Auf zwei Bauernhof-Übernachtungen wird der Schlafsack unser Begleiter sein. Zelt und Isomatte können daheim bleiben, es gibt für jeden ein Bett. Die von uns ausgesuchten Übernachtungen entsprechen dem Stil der Region und haben einen guten Standard.

ESSEN

Wer hart fährt, der soll auch gut essen. Wir tun das meist auf Bauernhöfen, wo die urige Esskultur der Region gepflegt wird. Auf üppiges Mittagessen verzichten wir, da mit vollem Magen nicht gut Enduro fahren ist. Dafür gibt es ein reichliches Frühstück und ausgedehnte Menüs am Abend. Und für den kleinen Hunger zwischendurch stehen die Bars am Wegesrand bereit.

BEKLEIDUNG

Komplette Enduro-Schutzkleidung. Wir empfehlen Endurostiefel, -hose und -jacke mit Ellenbogen- oder Brustpanzer, Knieschützer aus Hartplastik, Endurohelm, Brille mit splitterfreier Scheibe.

LEISTUNGEN

6 Übernachtungen in Hotels und Fermes Auberges, Halbpension, Tischgetränke, Roadbooks, Tourguide, Gepäcktransport, Technischer Support, Servicefahrzeug, Reisesicherungsschein.

AUF WUNSCH

Personen-, Motorradtransport, Roadbookhalter.

Nicht enthalten

Benzin, Getränke, Mittagessen, Reiserücktrittskosten-Versicherung.

TERMIN

27.05. – 02.06.2018

PREISE

  • Roadbook-Tour: € 980
  • Mietmotorrad Yamaha WR 250 R:  € 570
  • Einzelzimmer nur auf besondere Anfrage
  • Roadbookhalter Miete: € 20
  • Motorradtransport: € 200

MINDESTTEILNEHMERZAHL

10 Personen

TOUR Gascogne [PDF-DOWNLOAD]

ZUR TOUR ANMELDEN